Come and Go

 

 

 

 

 

“And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.” –Abraham Lincoln

Well, it is the New Year! I have a tough one to beat, 2010 was pretty good all things considered. Even though it started with me losing my job and needing to find a new place to live within weeks, by July I was employed with a great company, loving  life, and having fun. 

In the early months of 2010 when I was unemployed, I enrolled in a life-enrichment course which taught me the importance of loving thyself and loving others. I began to accept my faults, mistakes, and things that I wished had gone differently. It opened my eyes to a new way of living; a purer, more fulfilling life. I was able to think through my experiences and talk about them with strangers.

I certainly appreciated the time I had to explore; whether it was exploring within myself, or within the world. Sadly I must say that when you are unemployed it is hard to go far and travel. So I made due with what I had around me. I went to Tahoe often, hiked around on local trails, and soaked up some vitamin D in the sun!

In the middle of the year after much perseverance, I landed a job with Patagonia! I could not be happier about it. Some things in life just fall in place and I really think that I was meant to work here. 😉

In the fall of 2010 I was tested for sure, as you may have read in my blogs about forgiveness.  Karma comes around to those who deserve it and I truly feel I am on the rise for the good end of it.

And finally in December I graduated with my undergraduate degree in Business. While a lot of my fellow graduates are searching out high-paying jobs and moving accross the U.S., I decided to stay where I am for the moment.  I’m happy where I am at so I’m going to enjoy it for a bit!

I am excited to see what 2011 will bring me, although so far it has been a bit of a challenge mentally. I didn’t make any resolutions; it’s not because I don’t have faults (believe me I am FAR from perfect). I decided not to make any because they are always the same; eat better, drink less soda, stop cursing like a sailor, do more cardio. I have a list of things to accomplish over the whole year instead; things that are more fun like SKYDIVE, road trip on the coast of Washington/Oregon, visit Megan in Boston, get the Burning Man experience, and get a professional massage and spa day!

So 2011, here we go! You better bring me lots of luck, love, and adventure!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Come and Go

  1. John Lundemo

    I love your writing, Jenna Noel. A wonderful piece and I can feel your growth and change as a person and as a writer…
    I hope 2011 will include travels to China and Australia.
    All my love,
    Dad

  2. Megan

    You want to come see me? Yay, Yay, Yay!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

