Turn the Page…

This Saturday I will wear a dress, do my hair, slip on a black robe, and place a square hat on my head with a tassel on the right. I am graduating!

As I sat here comtemplating how to sum up all of the years I have spent at the University of Nevada Reno, I came to the conclusion that I would have to write a really long blog…or at least a few of them. Instead of boring you to death writing about my college life, I decided to pick a few things that have stood out in my mind over the past several years (yes, I said several).

In the past years I’ve spent a lot of money on books: $4,320

I even bought a few parking passes before I started parking below the University : $800.00

And with my in-state tuition and scholarships I still managed to pay approximately: $13,700

Yet here I am seven years later (four and a half if you don’t count the three-year break I took), in a melancholy mood.

I remember my first years at college, walking through the quad lined with trees, listening to the bell ring in Morrill Hall, eating lunch in the old Jot Travis Student Union (The “JOT” or JTSU), studying (or trying to…) in the very old Getchell Library, taking the shuttle bus to my car in the far North parking lot, and struggling to concentrate in my classes as I stared out the window to watch the snow fall quietly on the ground. 

I spent four and a half years on campus figuring myself out.  I went through many rites of passage: gaining my own independence, finding romance and heartache, educating myself, learning personal finance, engaging in college drinking rituals, and much more!

I was 18 years old as a Freshman at the University of Nevada Reno when I first fell in love.  I remember all of the things I did for him on campus from leaving candies on his truck on Valentine’s Day to writing the words “I ♥ you” in leaves on the concrete  next to his parking spot.  I was 21 when we broke up and I remember every day of pain thereafter.  I would always look for him in between classes; just one glance was all I needed..

From long nights in the library with the help of plenty Redbulls to all-nighters at home, I learned the importance of not procastinating.  As I recall the many papers I wrote at the last minute, each of them were written exceptionally fast! I am happy to say that even though that was the case, I wrote them with the same quality as if I had written them days before.  This assured me that I can do anything I put my mind to, even with limited amounts of time and increased amounts of pressure.

Numerous nights were spent studying with friends around kitchen tables or alone in my bed by the light of a small lamp. Sadly, I must admit all of the chapters of Economics, Math, Finance, Chemistry, Accounting, and other various subjects that I didn’t read for class!

We all know that college would not be college without parties! I was never much of a drinker, but that didn’t stop me from trying. I remember underage drinking at houses, all of the plastic cups and games of beer pong.  Or what about that time I went drinking at bars with my old roommate’s I.D. and the night that it got taken at Bully’s Sports Bar?

I made many friends throughout my college experience and I am thankful for each and every one; whether you were a “study-buddy,” someone to turn to and ask a question, or a lifetime friend, you will never be forgotten.

As I begin a new chapter in my life, I know I can always return back; that is the great part about education…it NEVER stops! However, this ending of an undegraduate life is a little bitter sweet.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Turn the Page…

  1. Jenna – Congratulations!! No matter what happens next, you will always have the college degree.

    Robin

  2. I miss college! Those were some good times

    Congratulations! Here’s to a happy future and may it prosperous and full.

Leave a Reply

