Sugar Skies

Getting an inch of snow is like winning 10 cents in the lottery” – Bill Watterson

First snowfall of the year on the valley floor and I couldn’t be more excited! I am a winter baby through-and-through, born on a snowy day in January 1985. It was Superbowl sunday and the 49ers were playing the Dolphins when my mom headed to the hospital ( I just added that because I think it is pretty cool).

I wake up for work every morning between 4 and 4:45 a.m; I know, it’s early huh?! This morning it was raining and I could hear the pitter-patter of the drops as they hit the pavement outside my room.  As I walked out to start my car in the early dark hours, the rain had changed to snow. It was such a beautiful sight.

There is something so peaceful about the winter and I think that is what draws me to it. I feel more energized in winter months than I do in the summer, which most people feel is weird.  Maybe it’s because while everyone else is tucked away in their houses, sipping hot chocolate and watching movies, I like to be alone taking in the beauty of the great outdoors. It makes me feel like I am in the “olden days” out in the woods or sitting on the dock at Donner Lake. I just watch the snow fall, listen to the silence, and take it all in.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sugar Skies

  1. I am so jealous! We have had some really mild days. I am sure when we are in the dead of winter I will be singing a different tune.

    I feel very peaceful when it snows too. The world just falls away and there is this silence unlike anything else. I can’t wait for the first snow here just to have that moment.

Leave a Reply

