Lessons of Forgiveness Part I

Photo by J.B. Lundemo

I have had an overwhelming amount of individuals over the past month or so re-entering my life and asking for forgiveness.  It’s actually quite strange how they all seem to have popped up at the same time.

A few years ago, my best friend (who was also an ex) completely walked out of my life because he was getting married. Although he had some excellent rationale behind it later, he went about it in the worst way at the time! He never even called me to tell me and instead he decided to ignore me. Since I did not know he felt that way, I continued to call. That’s when the threatening letters, texts, and calls came from his fiance. Some of the most hurtful things anyone has ever said to me, came from her mouth. Because she does not know me, I tried not to let it get to me.

Years passed and I began to accept the fact that we were never going to talk again…that is until he messaged me on Facebook asking to see me. I was immediately flushed with anger and resentment. How could he turn his back so easily on me and expect me to be here waiting like a lost puppy?!

When it finally came down to speaking face to face, it was like hardly any time had passed at all. I couldn’t be mad at him; I couldn’t hate him for abandoning our friendship. I have no room for hate in my heart. Sometimes friendships last forever, no matter what conflicts and issues come between.

Forgiveness is hard to give when you feel like you have been wronged, but  it truly is the greatest gift we can give ourselves. It forces us to grow, and also takes an enormous weight off. Although I had every intention of not being taken advantage of, nothing inside of me was holding back the forgiveness. I just wanted to let go of all of the hurt, and all of the feelings and emotions that had accumulated over the years.

I’m glad that he finally came to his senses! And I’m happy to have him in my life as a friend again. Hopefully next time he will realize that our friendship is worth saving and that it’s not worth risking in the first place.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Lessons of Forgiveness Part I

  1. Megan

    I believe being able to forgive is one of the hardest things to come to terms with. It takes a strong person to let go of the past and move forward. From past experience I understand and know the peace that comes from forgiveness. It’s such a refreshing feeling.

  2. Pingback: Come and Go | Jennalundemo's Blog

Leave a Reply

