Is Being Emotional Such a Bad Thing?

It is the mind which creates the world around us, and even though we stand side by side in the same meadow, my eyes will never see what is beheld by yours, my heart will never stir to the emotions with which yours is touched.” -George Gissing



Some people have told me that I am “emotional.” Well, I agree but I don’t think I would have it any other way. Being emotional means that I am showing I truly care about something deep down. It means that I have put value into that experience and some part of it affected me greatly.

There are many reasons why people choose not to express their emotions.  Most people tend to hide their emoitons or bottle them up because they are afraid of what others may think about them.  Others show no emotion because they don’t think it’s “normal” to be feeling that way, or they have to be the “rock” that holds everything together.  Some people see crying as a sign of weakness, especially among men. 

The truth is that we are very diverse creatures.  Each individual body and mind react differently if faced with the same situation.  Culture and ethnicity also play a huge role in emotion and whether it is appropriate to disclose or embrace it. 

I would much rather defy what others think about me and be the person who calls her friends to cry about problems, then the one who bottles them up. I wear my heart on my sleeve and it has caused problems in the past because people were not ready to hear what I had to say. Do I regret it? Not in a million years. It makes me who I am and at least I can say I was honest with what I was feeling.

I think it is important to be aware of how you handle emotions and work on controlling them.  Getting your emotions out and venting doesn’t always involve crying and turning to others.  Try writing or keeping a journal about experiences and how they made you feel. Go on a hike and talk to nature or animals if you don’t want to confide in others.  Draw a picture or write a song if you can.  Anything to express how you are feeling in a healthy way will aide in releasing tension, thus helping you in the long run. 

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Is Being Emotional Such a Bad Thing?

  1. Leif

    Right on! Be yourself! Care about things! Phony people who pretend like they care but dont actually care are the ones you have to worry about.

  2. I think this is spot on. It’s like you are reading my mind.

  3. Thanks for the comments. And Bill, I knew that was where I got it from! =) I am my father’s daughter.

  4. Jenna,
    You are so right about this. Being very emotional myself, it can be embarrassing at times (a man crying at a stupid movie, etc.) but I don’t care. I feels right.

    Robin

  5. Hmm. I help people with their emotions a lot at http://www.livingwords.net and I was talking to my wife about this last night. We really do only have one life and if we truly want to express ourselves we often have to break free of the limits we have allowed others to set for us, especially in the realm of emotion. There are so many cultural taboos about expressing emotion but if you can rise above them, and see them as they are, just beliefs, then you can learn to express yourself appropriately and get your needs met. Good post.

  6. Robin- I am glad to hear that you are keeping in touch with your emotions and not being afraid to show how you feel.

    Doug- Thanks for the compliment. I like your view of breaking free from limits that others have built. As long as we aren’t hurting others intentionally, then showing emotion is a good thing.

    Thanks for the comments!

  7. Post something… don’t stop the blog.

    • Thanks. Didn’t know I had fans. I am working on a few…just taking a long time.

      • leona

        hey i just found your blog and i find this quite interesting for myself i am a very emontial woman and always have been i also be honest sometimes i hate it i think for the fact i dont know how to handle them i cry easy i feel and care a lot about others to always have the need to think on others

      • Thanks Leona. I think it is okay to be emotional as long as we are aware of the effects. I appreciate you stopping by and reading my blog! It’s been awhile since I have written on it. 🙂

  8. Megan

    I couldn’t agree more. I used to be one that bottled it all up but I’m not so much anymore. Let me say, it’s way better to wear your heart on your sleeve than to be cold and dark. Life is beautiful when it you express and show it freely.

  9. Pingback: Curse You Eros! « Jennalundemo's Blog

  10. Pingback: Come and Go | Jennalundemo's Blog

  11. My thoughts exactly. Thank you for putting into words how I feel.

  12. Finally someone said it on my behalf. While most of my “friends” label me as ’emotional’, I thought I had the every right to express what I genuinely feel inside. I wish I’d seen this sooner. Thanks for your post!

Leave a Reply

