Nobody “Nose” Like Pinocchio

“Integrity is telling myself the truth. And honesty is telling the truth to other people.” -Spencer Johnson

I cannot stress enough the importance of building character, owning up to that character, having integrity, and being honest. These four things will take you so far in life and you will pick up many followers, friends, and opportunities with them along the way.

I was reading Jace O’mallan’s blog on honesty and integrity and it gave me some ideas on why I think honesty is so important to me. I have always been extremely honest, and when I say extremely I mean extremely. Let me paint you a picture:

It is my 8th grade year at Middle School.  I have a book report for English and I haven’t finished reading the end of my book. In fact, I only made it a little over half-way, we’ll say 65%.  My teacher instructed us not to tell the end of our book in hopes that we could interest more students to read it.  So I am up in front of the class discussing my book. I am almost finished with my report when I look at my teacher, take a deep breath, then blurt out “I’m sorry, I didn’t finish my book.”  All of my friends are now staring at me with open jaws wondering WHAT possessed me to say that! Even my teacher is looking at me in astonishment.  Needless to say I did not receive an “A” on my book report; however, I did manage to get a “C” and a comment saying “I appreciate your honesty and for that reason I have not failed you for the assignment.”

If you are honest and you have integrity, others will recognize that as your character.  Your character and what you represent is all you really have in life to distinguish yourself.  It is how people talk about you and how they remember you.  I try to keep this in mind at all times: say what you mean, and mean what you say.

Telling a lie just creates the need to tell even more lies, either to cover up details from the one you first told or because maybe you got away with it and want to tell more. Not being truthful will result in much more stress and work for you in the end, not to mention that it is detrimental to building your character. Stay honest with yourself and remember that every action has a reaction and consequences.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Nobody “Nose” Like Pinocchio

  1. David Urbani

    I agree! Unfortunately for me I didn’t learn that quality until around my senior year of high school. I think my life would have turned out very different if I was more honest when I was younger.

  2. Thanks for your comment David. That’s alright that you didn’t know it from a young age, we all learn from mistakes and from experiences.
    -Jenna

Leave a Reply

