Mature Spontaneity

“Spontaneity has its time and its place.” -Arthur Frank Burns

I have dug myself a tunnel that seems like it is almost to China. I was so optimistic when I turned 18 and got my first credit card.  I began charging away, responsibly of course; paying well above my monthly minimums.  I had great credit and I felt good about myself.  Then I had a brilliant idea (or so I thought) to buy myself a home at the age of 20.  I did so, but I jumped into it quickly…a little TOO quickly. Before I knew it I was working 2 full time jobs,dropping out of school, and charging more on my credit cards than I knew I could really afford.

I was so responsible before so how could I have let that happen?! Well the answer may be more simple than I realized at the time. For one, I was 20 years old.  Secondly, I came to realize that sometimes it is my personality to jump into things quickly before I explore all options.  I found a house and wouldn’t settle until I had “that one.”

Through my mistakes I have learned to change that impulsive behavior when it involves such a long term decision. I still like to be spontaneous when it comes to small life choices, but I have matured enough to realize when it is appropriate and when things need more thought.  We all have the ability to adapt, enhance, and grow and to make valuable choices while learning from our mistakes.

My advice to you is this:

  1. Take caution when making large decisions. Sleep on them and search opportunities.
  2. Put some thought into your strengths and weaknesses and acknowledge when you need to change behaviors.
  3. Learn from mistakes and never let them get the best of you.

I like to tell people that I went through my mid-life crisis at an early age and I’m glad it happened to me while I still have the chance to correct things.  I have had many more financial hardships that have since followed my house and I am still on the road to recovery, as many Americans are right now. I am more aware of the long-term affects of my decisions and I try to incorporate a balance between what I want and what I can afford.

Even though my financial decisions have led me to the most depressing time in my life, I need to remember is that if I can throw money at the problem, then it truly isn’t a problem.  The real problems are the  ones that I CAN’T fix with money. With that in consideration, I am able to approach every day with a smile on my face and laughter in my heart.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mature Spontaneity

  1. Very well said Jenna. It seems like the mistakes we make when we’re young only strengthen our abilities in future decisions.

  2. Cas

    Only some learn by mistakes Jenna, and you underwent a difficult learning curve, and came out as a wonderful inspiration to others.
    Your optimistic and positive outlook on life will always get you through any troubles.
    Keep up the wonderful writing.
    Love always

Leave a Reply

