Lather, Rinse, Repeat

Even though you have proven something to yourself before, each time is a new experience and you may need to prove it to yourself again.

Don’t get caught-up in the past and how you may have done things before, unless you use it as a learning experience.  Each day is a new day, no matter how many activities you may be repeating in it. We often forget this as we begin our days with moans and groans of daily routines.  Each day is filled with new opportunities and if we do not embrace them openly, then we will not be able to see the small differences that make life what it is. 

Remember the things that you have done or experienced in the past that you did not find beneficial, then make the conscious choice not to repeat them; vice versa for the things that you DID find beneficial and fulfilling. Just remember that when you do go to repeat them, they will differ from the original time.

The past year has been really hard on me and I wake up every day telling myself that I can make it through.  I PROVE to myself that I can be happy and that there will be a new day to follow if I keep high spirits and motivation.  I think the theory of proving yourself things that you have already accomplished makes new challenges and allows for new growth. 

Each day we experience things that allow for our knowledge to expand, and this expansion causes the need to prove to ourselves things that we have already done.   This is because now our views may have changed due to the experiences and knowledge that we have obtained.

You should also repeat things that you have done out of love for the activity.  Each time the activity is repeated, you get a sense of reassurance of how much you enjoy it.  I have lived in the Sierra Mountains my whole life and I enjoy snowboarding in the winter.  Every time that I hit the slopes I am reminded how much I truly enjoy the act of strapping on my bindings, looking down the run below me, and taking the first plunge down the mountain.

Another important reason to prove something to yourself: repetition builds confidence and anchors concepts. The more we do something, the better we become at it.  Performing actions and being persistent will always result in improvement. The CEO’s of companies are usually not just handed the job, they start at the bottom and repeat certain actions or behaviors that they value or need improvement on until they arrive at the positions they desire; and even they still have the need to prove to themselves.

So don’t get discouraged when you are not perfect the first time (or ANY time) you try something, instead reflect on how you performed the task or activity and where you need to improve the next time. Prove to yourself over and over again that you CAN do something and observe how it differed from the last time you did it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Lather, Rinse, Repeat

  1. I’m an old friend of your dad’s. He’s the one who turned me on to your blog. A thought for you:

    Try writing concrete mini-stories or moments. The strength and power between the sentences, “The more we do something, the better we become at it,” and “Every time that I hit the slopes I am reminded how much I truly enjoy the act of strapping on my bindings, looking down the run below me, and taking the first plunge down the mountain,” is enormous. The second is scary, like your first roller coaster ride. The first is a lesson in a magazine.

    W.H. Auden remarked something to the effect that all the definitions of metaphor in the world didn’t hold a candle to a red wagon in the rain. One can sense that.

    Your insights are moving. I’d love to see the story behind them.

  2. Thanks for the advice Bill. Writing doesn’t come as easily to me as it does to my story-teller father, but I am trying and with more practice I know I can improve. Again, thanks for reading as well as for your input.
    -Jenna

Leave a Reply

